top of page

Creative Blocks


Are you currently facing a lack of motivation or a creative block? Have you gone longer than you are comfortable with without creating? We all have them and we all handle them in our own way. The trick is figuring out how to bust out of that slump and spark a new window of thinking.

Lets talk shop. What initially inspired you to create? Is it music, culture, food, love, books, nature, a beautiful place, people, emotions, sports, and so forth? Figure out what ignites your imagination and surround yourself with that. Fill your senses with all your favorite pleasures in life and meditate on them.

Usually when I get a creative block it's because my mind is too jumbled and I need to clear the fog of negative vibes in my brain box. So I say to self, "Nessa, get it together girl." Then I go get my booty out in nature whether it's a run with my pups near a creek or just a simple jog on the track. Then I put on some music to set the mood and prepare my space for a painting session. Now I love lights. So my place is usually strung from floor to ceiling with lights. I like to surround myself with things that feed my creativity. My home is full of fun pieces that I find beautiful and unique including my own artwork. Of course a drink or two also gets those creative juices going. This process is my prescription to get me out of a funk. Find yours.

If you can't get your thinker going, no matter your style and what mood you like to portray in your work, it's good to put small touches here and there in your living space to inspire you throughout the day. Also getting your feng shui on can help. Sometimes you just need to change up your home when it gets stale. I might be a little psychotic but I do love to move around my furniture every couple of months to switch it up a bit. Maybe shaking it out on the dance floor sparks your creativity. Watch an aesthetically amazing movie or try reading a good book. Do an activity that makes you happy even if that means sleeping. Work on treating yourself and the mind will open.

Let's move on now you figured out how to get your mojo back. Set goals for yourself. A sketch a day or maybe a full painting a week. Try new mediums or mix mediums. Maybe you just needed a break from the regular process. Use a notebook to write down all your ideas and make an effort to put those ideas into action no matter how silly or crazy they are. I like crazy and people like to see crazy, so give it to them!

I like to carry a little notepad or journal to write down all my painting ideas so I will always have something to paint next or pick up if I have a hard time. Mind you I usually write in this when I'm drunk and the things I write down are just completely amazing! I'm in the process of moving but once I get settled and find one of my older notebooks I promise I will post one of these spectacular list and it will change your life!

Let's replay this. Clear your head, remember what inspires you, surround yourself with that, treat yoself, get your mojo back, and set goals! Wow, I could have just wrote that one sentence instead of making you read my terrible paragraph arrangements.

Stay tuned for more unwise tales and ridiculous advice from a dirty woman. (I'm dirty because I'm also a gardener.)

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page